The Importance of Physical Literacy

Be Fit For Life

Be Fit For Life Alberta defines Physical Literacy as followed:

Physical Literacy can be described as the development of fundamental movement skills and fundamental sport skills that permit a child to move confidently and with control, in a wide range of physical activity, rhythmic (dance) and sport situations. The first three stages of the Long Term Athlete Development model (LTAD) help develop physical literacy. 

This past month, I have been fortunate enough to go school to school within the Medicine Hat Catholic School District Elementary Schools teaching Physical Literacy. I have been working with Be Fit For Life and Ever Active Alberta, and I am so grateful for this opportunity. I believe the most critical thing with today’s youth, is ensuring they are active. Children spend extensive time on electronics in today’s society and I think that is not okay. As I have traveled to the six school schools, worked with over 20 teachers, and over 500 students, I am confident that Be Fit For Life’s motives and goals are needed with our students and children.

I have taught multiple resources, including BFFL’s Reach, Twirl, Curl Up Small, Move & Play Recess Resource, Move & Play Infusing Indigenous Traditional Games, BFFL DPA Greatest Hits Games, BFFL Yoga in the Classroom Resource, BFFL Move & Play through Physical Literacy and Ever Actives’ Physical Literacy Enriched for the PE Generalist Teachers. 

This job, has not only allowed me the opportunity to get into the schools but it has also allowed me to teach my passion to hundreds of students! Children NEED to get active, and sometimes I fear the teachers’ are the underlying cause to why their class is not active. I know these resources are designed to teach the teachers, who are uncomfortable teaching physical education lessons, that it can be effortless and fun! The resources I have been teaching, as listed above provide all the rules and many different game ideas and/ or lesson plans for any teacher to use. I am so thankful for this opportunity, and I hope that I was able to teach many teachers the benefits of these resources. Through play and fun, BFFL and Ever Active Alberta has created exceptional resources, that I have been lucky enough to teach!

I LOVE what I do, and I am so excited to use these resources in my future class!

Leave a Reply

